Window title issue

Discussion in 'Cadence' started by Dominic Duvarney, Apr 12, 2006.

  1. A co-worker asked me to post this:

    Anyone know how to control the banner at the top of my layout window?
    It used to say "Virtuoso: Editing/Reading libName cellName viewName"
    Now it just says "Virtuoso". Not sure how I messed it up. Im using FVWM
    version 2.4.19. Though fvwm is not officially supported, Ive been using
    it for a long time without any trouble.

    I can set the banner using hiSetWindowName(getCurrentWindow() string),
    but I want the default behavior back that updated any time you open or
    descend into a cell.

    Karl
     
    Dominic Duvarney, Apr 12, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. I'm wondering whether this is a window manager bug where it doesn't know the
    (R) symbol (the registered symbol - a small R in a circle), and it's giving up
    with the rest of the window name.

    I vaguely recall seeing this (I was using fvwm2 a lot until recently) - perhaps
    it's a font issue?

    I doubt very much whether there's some SKILL code setting the window name
    to just Virtuoso, so this seems the most likely explanation.

    Regards,

    Andrew.
     
    Andrew Beckett, Apr 12, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Dominic Duvarney

    satya Guest

    Karl

    This is an issue with window managers that do not support ISO-8859-1
    charset for the title. ICCCM spec says they should(an old spec that
    should be scrapped). I know WindowMaker supports only UTF-8. Some older
    ones probably do only ASCII.

    I haven't figured out the use of that ® yet. Perhaps Cadence is
    somewhat uncertain that we know about Virtuoso being a registered
    trademark!

    Satya
     
    satya, Apr 13, 2006
    #3
  4. Dominic Duvarney

    fogh Guest

    Yep. They are a bit uncertained we could not notice from the invoice,
    that we can not by it from someone else. Not with the same name.
     
    fogh, Apr 13, 2006
    #4
  5. Dominic Duvarney

    fogh Guest

    Andrew,

    I have seen this window title look ridiculous because of the locale
    setting in CDE/motif. That affects font paths. Why not make that a PCR
    to remove all non-7bit ascii from the title ?
     
    fogh, Apr 13, 2006
    #5
  6. Dominic Duvarney

    Fergus_S Guest

    It's a window manager problem.

    Use 'fvwm2' instead, if it's available.

    fergus
     
    Fergus_S, Apr 19, 2006
    #6
  7. Dominic Duvarney

    Austinight

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    A patch for this in FVWM has been posted to FVWM Forums

    I've posted a hack to fix this issue (by replacing the copyright character with a space) to the FVWM forums at fvwmforums.org.

    If you don't feel up to hacking/compiling fvwm yourself and can't get someone to do it for you, you can also play Skill games to bypass this. Say with:

    (defun fixTBar () (hiSetWindowName (hiGetCurrentWindow), (buildString (mapcar '(lambda (x) (if (strcmp x "~") < 0 then x else "")) (parseString (hiGetWindowName (hiGetCurrentWindow)) "")) "")))

    You can register a trigger (via deRegUserTriggers) to run this on a Cadence window open event.

    Nice to tie up loose ends, even if it is 7 years later. :p

    Enjoy,

    -A
     
    Austinight, Jul 31, 2013
    #7
  8. Dominic Duvarney

    Austinight

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ooops. Left a comma in there. Corrected version:

    (defun fixTBar () (hiSetWindowName (hiGetCurrentWindow) (buildString (mapcar '(lambda (x) (if (strcmp x "~") < 0 then x else "")) (parseString (hiGetWindowName (hiGetCurrentWindow)) "")) "")))
     
    Austinight, Jul 31, 2013
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.