User Defined

Discussion in 'Pro/Engineer & Creo Elements/Pro' started by Shankar Venkateswaran, Nov 7, 2003.

1. Hi there,
    I want to creat a user defined feature for which I should be able to
    change dimension when I place it at a particular position. I also want
    to define a reference of my choise (for example in hexogon my
    reference should be a plane and a corner/edge). I am new to this
    option. Please explain step by step.
    Thanks,
    Shankar.

Shankar Venkateswaran, Nov 7, 2003
  2. Shankar Venkateswaran

David Janes Guest

: Hi there,
    : I want to creat a user defined feature for which I should be able to
    : change dimension when I place it at a particular position. I also want
    : to define a reference of my choise (for example in hexogon my
    : reference should be a plane and a corner/edge).

User Defined Features (UDF) present some difficulties, not chiefly in
    understanding or creating them. The chief difficulty is that they presented
    themselves as workarounds for features which worked badly to awkardly, such as
    counter bored or tapped hole construction or sheetmetal formed punch/die features.
    Since these deficiencies have been confronted head on, such as, with the new hole
    'wizard', which provides a single, graphical input screen, plus tapped hole sizes
    for US and metric, the need for a UDF to accomplish this has disappeared,
    superceded by better basic functionality.

Another drawback to using UDFs was always that it was meant for more complicated
    feaures or combinations of features. A UDF, BTW, starts out life as a simple
    feature or series of features and, by the UDF definition, turns into a group. Any
    reference in the original feature becomes a reference in the UDF and needs a
    correlate in the part to which it to be applied. And the precise reference was
    needed. If you referenced a datum in the original, you'd better have one available