help needed in surfacing

Discussion in 'Pro/Engineer & Creo Elements/Pro' started by ms, Apr 29, 2004.

1. ms

ms Guest

Hello all,

I have a non-planar surface with a circular-ish hole in it (not a true
    circle and not on a plane). I would like to fill this hole to make the
    surface continuous. Can you describe the procedure to do so? Sorry if this
    sounds like a simplistic request--I'm a newbie to surfacing and don't even
    know where to start. Thanks in advance.

ProE 2001

ms, Apr 29, 2004
  2. ms

David Janes Guest

: I'm a newbie, too, and using Wildfire (with no knowledge of earlier
    : versions) so don't know if this will be any help.... Interior trim
    : boundaries can be removed during a surface copy operation (there's a Fill
    : Hole option). They can also be removed on imported surfaces as part of a
    : Heal Geometry / Manual operation. If that's not possible I think I'd trim
    : out the circular hole with a four sided shape and do a Boundary Blend
    : (though that might not be the best way to do it). Hope this isn't sending
    : you on a wild goose chase.
    :
    In the proper circumstances, these are all good and powerful tools. What I'm not
    clear on is just what those circumstances are. How complex is the surface? Is it a
    collection of patches? Should that hole even be there or is it a surface rip? So,
    for trouble shooting or working with other people's models, it's good thing to
    turn on all the layers so you can see how the surface is constructed, get all that
    datum curve, point and axis rigging visible. Make sure nothing is suppressed in
    the model tree. Quickly scan through the Model Tree to see if it is a separate
    hole, cut or trim feature. Failing finding it this way, use 'Tools>Model player'
    to see how the thing was constructed by 'playing' it, feature by feature,
    backwards or by running it back to the beginning and playing it forward. If the