DTEXT Lisp Comments & Suggestions

Discussion in 'AutoCAD' started by TJARONIK, Aug 7, 2003.

1. TJARONIK

TJARONIK Guest

Hello All,

I must start by telling you that I am no programmer. I just know enough to be dangerous. So please don't laugh at my coding.

I have made a set of DTEXT routines to make the entering of DTEXT with a set justification much easier. Please see the attatched lisp file. I have added comments so that you can see what each line does. I have only added the comments to each line of the first routine. I would like to ask if anyone could give me comments, ideas, suggestions...etc. as to what might make this better or run mo betta. :) Please understand this is rough. It works as it is now. I am just wanting to see what I might do to make it better.

Thanks in advance !

"Catch" Ya Later
    Tim

TJARONIK, Aug 7, 2003
  2. TJARONIK

Guest Guest

Small Comment: Regards the following

(setq SP "") ; Clear the getpoint variable because this routine is only one of the routines for the dtext command

(setq DIMS "") ; Clear the dimscale variable

if you ad declared them Earlier in the:

(defun C:DTC( / )

(defun C:DTC( /  sp dims)

They would be local Variables and not need to be cleaned up.

AND OTHER POINT IS THAT (SETQ SP "") DOES NOT ACTUALLY SET THE VARIBLE TO NIL BUT A STRING ZERO LENGTH

TYPE : (TYPE "")

RETURNS : STR

TYPE: (SETQ SP "")

RETURNS: ""

TYPE: (SETQ SP 'NIL)

RETURNS: nil

I have not actually test the routine as yet.

The other thing which is a matter of my own preference is to name the variables with more recognisable names

like when you had:

(setq OSM(getvar "OSMODE"))

(setq ECHO(getvar "cmdecho"))

(setq DTBCL(getvar "CLAYER"))

(setq DTBCS(getvar "TEXTSTYLE"))

(setq DIMS(getvar "DIMSCALE"))

I would use

(setq V:OSMODE(getvar "OSMODE"))

(setq V:CMDECHO(getvar "cmdecho"))

(setq V:CLAYER(getvar "CLAYER"))

(setq V:TEXTSTYLE(getvar "TEXTSTYLE"))

(setq V:DIMSCALE(getvar "DIMSCALE"))

FOR GLOBAL VARIABLES OR