'Cannot connect to PTC Name Service. Please ensure that it has been started'

Discussion in 'Pro/Engineer & Creo Elements/Pro' started by jjzwaard, Aug 1, 2006.

1. jjzwaard

jjzwaard Guest

LS,

I'm a newbie to Pro-E and would like to know what this message is and
    how I can solve this.

Thanks!

JJ

jjzwaard, Aug 1, 2006
  2. jjzwaard

Ben-TSE Guest

Ben-TSE, Aug 1, 2006
  3. jjzwaard

jjzwaard Guest

Thanx! This I'll try this right now!

Kind regards,

JJ
    Ben-TSE schreef:

jjzwaard, Aug 1, 2006
  4. jjzwaard

jjzwaard Guest

That didn't help. Any suggestions??

jjzwaard, Aug 1, 2006
  5. jjzwaard

David Janes Guest

The following is typical of the responses received for this question on the
    PRO/USER Datamgt group on prouser.com/datamgt. This was received in response to a
    similar query from Kevin Smith in April of this year, '06:
    Thanks to everyone that responded.

****************************************************************************************************

Original question

Folks:

I have been trying to setup access to our one dataserver in Texas from Canada and
    am having nothing but problems and PTC can't seem to help.

This is the message I get: Cannot connect to the specified NFS server, 'servername'
    Ensure that the file server is running, and that the owner of the file server
    process has permissions to read/write to the file vault location(s).

I know that everything is functional as the local users don't have any issues.

We are currently running 3.4 M020.

I have tried various things suggested by PTC as follows:

1. Set value in SQLORA.NET à SQLNET.AUTHENTICATION_SERVICES= (NONE) was NTS - Did
    not help

2. Renamed SQLORA.NET to OLDSQLORA so that Intralink did not use it at all. - Did
    not help

3. In the Oracle DB changed the fileserver name to the fully qualified name
    instead of just nodename. With this change it didn't help me but also when changed